What are you looking for?


800 Martinsburg Road
Mount Vernon, OH 43050

Clear Filter
June 2023
12:30 p.m.
The Westin, 241 Washinton St., Indianapolis
View All Upcoming Events
Show Mobile Menu

MVNU will honor Jim Singletary during Homecoming 2022

MOUNT VERNON, Ohio (November 3, 2022) — Mount Vernon Nazarene University looks forward to honoring Jim Singletary during Homecoming.

For 16 years, Singletary pioneered Diversity, Equity and Belonging efforts at MVNU. Tavaris Taylor, Assistant Vice President for Intercultural Engagement and Learning at MVNU, carries on the Singletary legacy through his engagement with students and continued mentorship with Singletary.

“Jim set a foundation for Diversity, Equity and Belonging that didn’t just impact our university. He initiated one of the earliest diversity and intercultural life offices in the Nazarene educational system,” Taylor said.

Looking back upon Singletary’s legacy, Taylor finds the three most significant contributions to Diversity, Equity and Belonging at MVNU to be the creation of the Office of Intercultural Life, the Diversity Leadership Scholarship Program, and Singletary’s contributions as a professor.

“You can’t begin to measure his impact in the realm of retention as some students saw for the first time a professor that looked like them,” said Taylor.

MVNU will celebrate the Singletary legacy on Friday, Nov. 11, in the President’s Dining Room in Hyson Campus Center. Refreshments will be served at 6 p.m., and the program will follow at 6:30 p.m. The event is free and open to the public; however, guests are asked to register here by Nov. 7.

Mount Vernon Nazarene University is a private, four-year, intentionally Christian teaching university for traditional age students, graduate students, and working adults. With a 327-acre main campus in Mount Vernon, Ohio, MVNU emphasizes academic excellence, spiritual growth, and service to community and church. MVNU offers an affordable education both in-seat and online to nearly 2,000 students from 25 states and 11 foreign countries.