Mount Vernon Nazarene University: Life Changing

Employees recognized for years of service at MVNU

University Dinner
August 27, 2012

MOUNT VERNON, Ohio -- Faculty and staff members were honored for their years of service at Mount Vernon Nazarene University's annual University Dinner on Monday, Aug. 27. Dr. Henry Spaulding, Provost and Interim President, reminded those in attendance of the great accomplishments over the past year, and cast a vision for the coming academic year.

Bookmark and Share

Rev. Geoff Kunselman, Chair of the MVNU Board of Trustees, delivered an update on MVNU's Presidential Search process, indicating that the Search Committee is currently evaluating more than 30 qualified nominees and applicants. You can find additional information about MVNU's Presidential Search by visiting

Spaulding also presented two additional awards. Dr. Bradley Whitaker, Professor of Mathematics and the Director of Academic Support, was honored as Faculty Member of the Year. Joyce Applegarth, Administrative Secretary to the Dean of the School of Arts and Humanities and pictured above, was recognized as Staff Member of the Year.

Other faculty and staff members receiving milestone service recognitions are pictured below. MVNU is proud to continue carrying out its mission and vision with the help of enthusiastic faculty and staff members committed to creating a life-changing educational experience for traditional age students, adult learners and graduate students.

Mount Vernon Nazarene University is a private, four-year, intentionally Christian teaching university for traditional age students, graduate students and working adults. With a 400-acre main campus in Mount Vernon, Ohio, and several additional Graduate and Professional Studies locations throughout the state, MVNU emphasizes academic excellence, spiritual growth and service to community and church. MVNU offers an affordable education to more than 2,600 students from 25 states and six countries/U.S. territories.

Five-year honorees

5 Years: L-R: (Front) Brad Whitaker, Jeff Spear; (Back) Sharon Metcalfe, Carrie Beal, Teresa Haverstock, Elizabeth Napier. Not pictured: Michael Crawford, Esther Rudolf, Jenny Wert.

Ten-year honorees

10 Years: L-R: Rodney Yoder, Joyce McDonald, Sheryl Arden, Laura Short, Wayne Dunlop.

Fifteen-year honorees

15 Years: L-R: Vicky Reed, Gene McBride, John Noonan, Debbie Shepherd-Gregg, Alan Shaffer.

Twenty-year honorees

20 Years: L-R: Ardyth Stull, Pam Snow. Not pictured: Debbie Beheler, Garry Detty.

Thirty-year honorees

30 Years: L-R: Jim Skon, Marilyn Greer, Jim Clark, and Alex Varughese.

Thirty-five-year honoree

35 Years: Lincoln Stevens.

Privacy Policy    Site Map     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube © 2015 Mount Vernon Nazarene University