Mount Vernon Nazarene University

2011-2012 Catalog

Administrative Personnel

John M. Ballenger, M.A.

Director of Student Success

Tricia M. Bowles, B.A.

Creative Services Director

D. Eric Browning, M.A.

Director of Counseling and Wellness

Mary V. Cannon, B.A.

Director of Student Financial Services

B. Barnett Cochran, Ph.D.

Director of the Honors Program

Stephen H. Doenges, B.A.

Director of Information Technology Services

Kathy L. Griffith, M.B.A.

Director of Institutional Research and Reporting

Steven M. Jenkins, M.C.M., C.P.A.


Carol A. Matthews, Ed.D.

Director of Academic Support

C. Damon Osborne, Ph.D.

Assistant Vice President for Online Education

Patrick L. Rhoton, B.A.

Director of Human Resources

Joseph D. Rinehart, M.A.

Director of Broadcasting

Jeffrey P. Scott, B.A.

Director of Communications

Carlos M. Serrão, M.Div.

Director of Web Development

R. Merrill Severns, M.A.

University Registrar

Alan D. Shaffer, B.A.

Director of Auxiliary Services

Debbie Shepherd-Gregg, Ph.D.

Director of Teacher Education

James W. Smith, M.A.

Director of Admissions and Student Recruitment

Paul P. Swanson, M.A.

Athletic Director

Dennis D. Taylor

Director of Facilities Management and Campus Safety

Melanie A. Timmerman, J.D.

Director of Title IX Compliance

Randie L. Timpe, Ph.D.

Assistant to the Provost for Administration

David E. Tipton, M.L.I.S.

Director of Library

Thomas H. West, M.A.

Director of Alumni Relations

Michael R. Williams, M.A.

Director of Church Relations